I… need… better… avionics…

by hobbitalastair

As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been flying Jeb around in a plane, taking samples.

Up, up, and away...

This thing does have a decent rate of climb, no?

My plane is fun to fly; really stable (although it does gently nose-down without SAS), and fast. It’s ceiling is around 12000m, sadly, since I’d like to fly it up to higher altitudes to help me make temperature measurements! I can even time warp to 4x and leave it, safe in the knowledge that it’ll be fine… provided I don’t fly it into a mountain.

I’d like to make it able to fly higher; for that I think I’ll need to add extensions to the wings.

It’s proved invaluable so far, with several science-gathering expeditions, and a few just for fun. Also, I used it as a rover to trundle over to a ‘zone’, which was tiny – I’m not sure how I would have ever managed to land a rocket on it! I still don’t know how I’m going to get the other ones…

Some tourist photos:

What a nice view...

Don’t fall off!

It's a long way down...

What a nice view!

Plenty of room, too!

Landed!

 

