Time for a break

by hobbitalastair

I’ve had a lot of fun working on the Toshiba project over the last three weeks or so. Highlights include:

  • Getting ACPI working.
  • The PgUp button fix.
  • Setting up a serial link.
  • Learning a lot about ACPI, ATA, and the PCI bus.

But I think I’ll take a break, to work on other projects.

The next big push will probably focus on learning more about the disk controller, either through figuring out how to reverse engineer the Windows 98 driver (once I can confirm that it is actually doing it’s thing!), or by experimenting with the existing Linux drivers.

Notes for next time:

  • The Windows 98 driver only claims to support TOS7301 controllers. What’s up with that?
  • I’ll need to figure out what the difference in probing is between pata_legacy and pata_piccolo. See Alan’s last email for help with that.
  • I’m going to have to implement a ‘stub’ driver for experimenting with…
  • The best lead I’ve got at the moment would be that pata_piccolo does not ‘see’ the disk controller – probing fails. I’ll have to experiment with different methods to figure out which one works, and why, then add the other methods from pata_piccolo to the new driver to see whether they work.
