Gaming on Linux

by hobbitalastair

Kind of a well chewed over topic, but I thought I’d put my particular take on it out there. This is what my blog is for, after all…

I don’t classify myself as a gamer, but I do enjoy some gaming every now and then. Recently, I have been trying to expand my gaming selection, mostly so that I have more choice, but also to gauge how important a powerful GPU is to me. As a result, I intend to post on a game every so often, including an overview and pros/cons. Hopefully that will keep me busy πŸ™‚

I might cover a few older games that I really like, and that we own. Mostly, however, I will be sticking to open source or freely available games. A few newer ones will also make it in, but only if I am a huge fan.

To start with, here is my favourite:


Kerbal Space Program

Surprise, surprise!

I’ve gone into some detail about KSP on this page, which has now been updated. It’s still mostly up to date!

Pros:

  • KSP is really fun. Who wouldn’t want to try to build rockets and fly them to the Moon?
  • 3D graphics.
  • Professionally produced.
  • Within my budget πŸ™‚

Cons:

  • KSP requires a fairly grunty machine (it uses Unity…). Mine are marginal, although the GPU in this machine is good enough to run KSP on fairly high quality settings, and a Core 2 Duo is by far good enough for the physics as they are now.
  • It’s still a bit buggy… quicksave is easily confused, for instance.
