Aspire 6920 (Steve)

by hobbitalastair

 

Overview:

I originally thought that it was too ugly for a photo, but it’s been around for quite a while now, and has served me well. It deserves a photo:

 

You can't see the coffee stains from here

Shiny… and grubby…

This is yet another laptop. Originally, it was another loaned machine, but then it became mine – the original owner didn’t want it back.

It originally was running a terribly slow install of Windows 7, but I replaced that with Arch Linux, and used it for a while. Since I’ve now got the Dell working, it’s now running a Debian dual boot with the Windows Vista install from the Dell, just in case I ever need it back.

 

Aim:

This machine is probably going to be my KSP machine, mostly because my other machines really aren’t powerful enough.

To help with that, I’ve turned it into a separate project – cunningly named the “Acer Project”

It’s currently running Debian.

Specs:

It did have some decent specs to start with, but I’ve moved quite a few parts to the Dell

  • Core 2 Duo @ 1.8Ghz – T5670
  • 2GB DDR2 RAM
  • 250GB SATA HDD
  • Nvidia GeForce 9400M GS 512MB GPU
  • Half-dead battery (2 hour life, if I’m lucky) – now being used as a budget UPS 🙂
